May 2 – Kaleidoscope

02_Janet Lumb

Opening of the Kaléidoscope exhibition

Saturday May 2nd, 2015

2:00-5:00 PM

Exhibition from May 1st to June 14th, 2015

Maison de la culture Plateau-Mont-Royal

465, Mont-Royal E.

Mont-Royal metro station

Free entry

Montreal, March 1st, 2015 – Kaléidoscope’s opening reception will take place on Saturday, May 2, from 2:00-5:00 p.m., at the maison de la culture Plateau-Mont-Royal. Kaléidoscope, which runs from May 1st to June 14th, is one of the most prominent events of Festival Accès Asie’s 20th Anniversary Edition. This retrospective exhibition will feature photo and video portraits of 20 artists who have been part of the Festival over the past 20 years.

 

Kaléidoscope was exclusively created for the Festival’s anniversary edition by photographer Kiran Ambwani, involved in the Festival since 2008, and filmmaker Florence So, who has been actively collaborating with the Festival for more than 10 years. These two artists brought their creative powers together to develop this very special retrospective.

 

Kaléidoscope gives the Festival a special opportunity to highlight the efforts of its Board members over the years and to thank them for their ongoing commitment. The Festival is honored to feature original works created by five Board members for this year’s anniversary program.

A Chinese proverb says “One must add life to one’s years and not years to one’s life.” This philosophy underlies Kaléidoscope and offers a unique perspective from which to view the works of all the artists who have contributed to the Festival since its creation in 1995. Kaléidoscope will feature the artists as they posed for Kiran Ambwani and Florence So in a series of photos and video clips. Like a kaleidoscope, these images will fragment and break away in the imagination, challenging any conventional sense of portrait in shape and in meaning. Visitors to this exhibition will not only discover the works of renowned artists such as Janet Lumb, Chinese musician and co-founder of Festival Accès Asie; Hossein Sharang, Iranian poet; Amrita Choudhury, Indian dancer and choreographer; and Kakim Goh, Singaporean painter, but visitors will also discover the artists themselves. To give ongoing life to these incredible images, they are available for viewing on the Festival’s website.

 

Kaléidoscope constitutes a beautiful beginning to the festivities of this 20th Anniversary Edition of Festival Accès Asie, and celebrates the generous and exceptional contribution of our precious artistic collaborators.

 

portraits © Photo Kiran Ambwani / www.kiranambwani.com.

Kiran Ambwani – Artist photographer

Kiran Ambwani (www.kiranambwani.com) is an Indian photographer living in Montreal who is passionate about people’s lifestyles and the arts. Kiran Ambwani is a graduate from McGill University and Dawson College Institute of Photography. While her creative vision extends to the worlds of publishing and advertising, Kiran Ambwani has exhibited her artistic work across Canada and abroad. Her multi-faceted portfolio includes portraiture, editorail, lifestyle, travel and documentary photography.

Florence_mugshot

Florence So aka VJ Pink Rubber Lady – Video maker

Chinese artist, Florence So (www.pinkrubberlady.com) is a VJ, filmmaker and computer engineer working in Montreal. Since 2005, she has created live video mixes for a wide range of popular and alternative events under the name of “VJ Pink Rubber Lady.” She brings together visual arts and narrative elements to explore human behavior and psychology. Florence So is involved in diverse and multidisciplinary projects. Her films are widely shown in festivals, on television and online.

 

Du 2 au 28 mai 2017

2 mai – Kaleidoscope

(c) Kiran AmbwaniVernissage de l’exposition Kaléidoscope

Samedi 2 mai

17 h à 19 h

Exposition du 1er mai au 14 juin

 

Maison de la culture Plateau-Mont-Royal

465, Avenue Mont-Royal Est

(Métro Mont-Royal)

Entrée libre

Montréal, le 1er mars 2015 – Le samedi 2 mai à la maison de la culture Plateau-Mont-Royal s’ouvrira un des événements phare de la 20ème édition du Festival Accès Asie : l’exposition Kaléidoscope. Créée en exclusivité pour l’édition anniversaire du Festival par les artistes Kiran Ambwani et Florence So, l’exposition dévoilera du 1er mai au 14 juin de nouvelles facettes de 20 artistes qui ont marqué le Festival au cours des 20 dernières années.

Afin de souligner et de remercier l’engagement des membres de son comité de direction, le Festival a souhaité offrir un créneau à cinq d’entre eux en leur demandant de créer une œuvre originale pour l’édition 2015. Ainsi, l’artiste photographe Kiran Ambwani qui s’implique depuis 2008 au sein du Festival et l’artiste vidéaste Florence So qui collabore activement depuis plus de 10 ans, ont décidé d’unir leurs forces créatives pour initier ce beau projet.

« Il faut rajouter de la vie aux années et non des années à la vie » dit un proverbe chinois. C’est sur ce précepte asiatique que se base l’exposition, posant un regard nouveau sur des artistes qui ont offert leurs différentes visions artistiques au Festival, depuis sa création en 1995.  Sous la forme d’une série photographique et vidéographique, les œuvres se détailleront à la manière d’un kaléidoscope et se détacheront, dans leur fond et leur forme, des notions conventionnelles du portrait.  Ainsi, les visiteurs de cette exposition rétrospective pourront apprécier les clichés d’artistes de divers horizons, passant autant de Janet Lumb, musicienne d’origine chinoise et fondatrice du Festival Accès Asie, à Hossein Sharang, poète iranien, que d’Amrita Choudhury, danseuse et chorégraphe indienne, à Kakim Goh, peintre singapourien. Au total, 20 artistes de disciplines différentes ont joué le jeu en posant pour Kiran Ambwani et Florence So. Et pour faire perdurer ces œuvres dans le temps, le Festival les diffusera par la suite sur un blogue traitant du patrimoine asiatique canadien, leur conférant ainsi un accès universel.

Kaléidoscope entamera donc tout en beauté les festivités de la 20e édition du Festival Accès Asie, en célébrant la contribution généreuse et exceptionnelle de précieux collaborateurs artistiques.

portraits © Photo Kiran Ambwani / www.kiranambwani.com.Kiran Ambwani – Artiste photographe

Passionnée par les gens, leur mode de vie et les arts, Kiran Ambwani (www.kiranambwani.com) est une photographe d’origine indienne basée à Montréal. La vision créative de celle-ci s’adapte à la fois aux mondes de l’édition et de la publicité. Son portfolio englobe une multitude d’aspects : portraits, modes de vie, architecture, produits, paysages, reportages. Diplômée de l’Université McGill et de l’Institut de photographie Dawson, elle a présenté plusieurs expositions de ses œuvres personnelles au Canada et à l’étranger, en plus de son travail commercial.

Florence_mugshot

Florence So aka VJ Pink Rubber Lady – Artiste vidéaste

D’origine chinoise, Florence So (www.pinkrubberlady.com) travaille comme VJ, cinéaste et ingénieure informatique à Montréal. Depuis 2005, sous le nom « VJ Pink Rubber Lady », elle mixe la vidéo en direct pour un large éventail d’événements, à la fois populaires et marginaux. Sa griffe visuelle explore des éléments narratifs, représentant les comportements et la psychologie humaine. Ses vidéos sont présentées dans divers festivals, à la télévision et largement diffusées en ligne.

Du 1er au 27 mai 2018