Week 3

Print

A MUSICAL ENCOUNTER BETWEEN TURKEY AND SYRIA

Golestan

Thursday, May 18th
8 : 30 pm
20 $

Sala Rossa
4848 boulevard Saint-Laurent
Metro Mont-Royal

Press Release

Festival Accès Asie is proud to present its 4th edition of Golestan. This year’s concert will be a unique musical experience of the sounds from Turkey and Syria. Golestan, meaning “flower garden” in Persian, will feature Syrian oud player, Nazih Borish, and Turkish kanun player, Didem Basar.

While different languages are spoken in Syria and Turkey, these neighboring countries share many cultural elements. Historically, they share the same music modal system as well as many rhythms and melodies. Inspired by ancestral sources, Borish and Basar create their own musical language with instruments of ancient origin. Golestan will be a dialogue of new music created from the two cultures of Turkey and Syria.

Facebook Event

Nombre de billets


©Didem BasarDidem Basar – Kanun player

Didem Başar was born into a family bred with music. She started studying music at Istanbul Technical University Turkish Music State Conservatory when she was 11 years old. After completing the Conservatory’s Kanun program, she received her Bachelor’s Degree in composition in 1995. She explored the effects of art on society lin a Master’s Degree program on the musical analysis of Mevlevi Music at Marmara University. She gave lectures on Turkish music and kanun playing techniques at Haliç University Turkish music Conservatory and Istanbul University State Conservatory from 2001 until she moved to Canada in 2007. Her relocation to Montreal gave her the opportunity to reinterpret her music in which vividness is the result of the turbulent convergence of manifold cultures flowing from different parts of the world.

©Nathaneil HuardNazih Borish - Oudist

A native of Latakia, Syria, Nazih Borish learned to play the oud from his father at the age of five. As a child prodigy, he gave his first concerts at the age of thirteen in his hometown. A self-taught musician, he mastered the techniques of oud and different styles of music such as Arabic, Turkish, flamenco, and jazz among others. He has performed with major Middle Eastern artists throughout the Middle East, Russia, Ukraine, Venezuela, Canada and the United States. In 2005, Nazih founded his own school in Latakia and has since trained over 100 students in the practice of oud and improvisation. Since his arrival in Montreal in 2016, he has collaborated with a number of Montreal artists and remains very active on the metropolitan scene.

PrintNEW MEDIAS PERFORMANCE

©Yen-Chao Lin

DIY Haunt

Friday, May 19th
8 pm
Admission free

OBORO
4001 rue Berri
Metro Sherbrooke

Press Release

Festival Accès Asie, in collaboration with OBORO, is pleased to present DIY Haunt, a performative installation by the artist Yen-Chao Lin.

Created in residence at OBORO’s new media lab, DIY Haunt is inspired by Lin’s childhood experiences in Taiwan in the 1980s and 1990s, a period of great political change and rapid economic growth. Martial law, imposed by the government of Taiwan between 1949 and 1987, was eventually lifted leading to the liberalization and democratization of Taiwan.

Part a living tableau of memories and part healing process, DIY Haunt speaks to the social and economic austerity experienced after the Chinese Civil War. This performance installation reflects the different intergenerational experiences of this period which have led to separation, the emergence of boundaries and division.

Yen-Chao Lin uses the capacity to resist as a metaphor for various forms of cultural conditioningt hat have already taken place and that continue to occur in Canada and elsewhere in the world.

Facebook Event

Tickets available at the door!


©Olivier LewisYen-Chao Lin – Multidisciplinary Artist

Yen-Chao Lin is a Montreal-based multidisciplinary artist, self-described postmodern archivist, and a natural history enthusiast. She is an avid collector of found family records and other objects such as Victorian ephemera and biological specimens. As a first generation Taiwanese-born immigrant, her works are often inspired by oral histories and folk religion practices as well as recurring hauntological themes. Lin holds a BFA from Concordia University with a major in film production. Her works have been shown at Festival du nouveau cinéma (Montreal), Antimatter Media Art (Victoria), Women Make Waves (Taipei), and Festival image contre nature (Marseille) among others. She is currently a core member and programmer for Atelier Céladon. (www.cargocollective.com/psychickeye)

©Concordia UniversityAlice Ming Wai Jim – Curator

Alice Ming Wai Jim is an art historian, curator and co-editor of the of the scholarly journal, Asian Diasporic Visual Cultures and the Americas. She is an Associate Professor in the Department of Art History at Concordia University where she teaches contemporary art, media art, ethnocultural and global art history, international art exhibitions and curatorial studies.

Event presented in collaboration with

1_OBORO_Logo_150 Dpi (W 162)

Print DANCE COMPETITION Aff_FAA2017_Danse_FR_F

Middle Eastern Dance Competition

Saturday, May 20th
8 pm
15$

Sala Rossa
4848 St. Laurent Boulevard
Metro Mont-Royal

Press Release

Festival Accès Asie proudly presents the fourth edition of its Middle Eastern Dance Competition!

The evening will feature solo performances from candidates selected from the Festival’s call for submissions. Dance performances will be accompanied by the rhythmic sounds of Eastern music. Six Middle Eastern dance styles will be featured: Baladi, Sharqi, Saïdi, Shaabi, Eskandarani Melaya Leff, and Khaliji.

Performances will be judged on a variety of artistic and technical criteria by three internationally renowned professional dancers. Caroline Labrie, our jury member of honour in this competition, will be accompanied by returning jury members, Khadija Jabiry and Pierre Khoury. Bringing her own special touch to the competition, dancer Diane Labelle will host this unique Eastern event in French and English.

The jury will award three prizes to outstanding dancers. In the ever popular Audience Choice Awards, the audience will get to vote for the best solo performances.

But before the prizes are awarded, our feature dance performance will take center stage and get everyone moving. Let the dancing begin!

Facebook Event

Nombre de billets


©Courtoisie du FAA

Caroline Labrie – Jury of honor

A dance instructor since 1999, Caroline Labrie lives and breathes dance. She is as passionate about dancing as she is about sharing her dance knowledge. For this reason, Labrie established Danse égyptienne des Bois-Francs (2003), a school introducing students to Oriental Sharqui and folkloric dances. An interest in Egypt and Middle Eastern culture grew naturally from an early fascination with history and geography. In 2004, Labrie immersed herself in her art by travelling for the first time to Egypt, the cradle of Eastern dance and land of her ancestral roots.

©Pierre FilteauKhadija Jabiry – Instructor and choreographer

Of Moroccan origin, Khadija Jabiry comes from a family where dance and singing are an important part of everyday life. Early on, Jabiry’s passion for Egyptian dance took her to Egypt where she studied with prominent artists in Eastern dance such as Mahmoud Reda and Farida Fahmy. In 1999, she established the professional dance troupe Baladi et Danses de l’Orient: Tywalline, well-known for its diverse folkloric repertoire. Currently, Jabiry teaches North African dance in workshops in the United States and Canada, and serves as a member of the Board of Directors of the Association québécoise de danse orientale (AQDO).

©Courtoisie du FAAPierre Khoury – Dancer, instructor, choreographer

Pierre Khoury has managed to carve a prominent place in the world of oriental dance in Quebec. Winning the talent competition Cégep en spectacles, this dancer of Syrian origin, made his start in classical dance, and then as a professional in dances of the Orient, especially oriental classical and Dabke (Lebanese folklore). He completed his training with his mentor Khadija Jabiry, and continues to perfect himself with great Egyptian masters. In 2011, he created and managed Belly Dance with a Twist, evening shows for which he became the artistic director. Today Pierre is passionately pursuing his work as a dancer, choreographer and teacher, and regularly performs at La Menara Restaurant in the Old Port of Montreal.

©Andrew MacGabhannDiane Labelle – Dancer and instructor

Born in Montreal, Diane began her dance initiation with jazz, classical and modern dance. She undertook her training in oriental dance in 2003. In 2012, she studied with Khadija Jabiry and joined the folkloric troupe Les Tywallines from 2014 to 2015. She participated in many workshops with renowned teachers such as Aziza, Gamila Asfour, Lala Hakim, Amalia Maksoud, Karim Nagi, Ruby Beh, and others. She has danced in several Montreal festivals and Arabian restaurants in the city. Her dance style blends elements of classical and modern dance in fusion with oriental dance. Diane also teaches her passion. (www.labellebaladi.com)

Event presented by

TD_SHIELD_PRINT_LOGO_COL_RGB

PrintCULINARY ARTS

©Veena Gokhale

Sizzling spices, sacred stories

Sunday, May 21st
3 pm to 5 pm
15 $

SOLD OUT

MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels)
3680, rue Jeanne Mance
Metro Place-des-Arts

Press Release

Returning to tantalize our tastebuds, Festival Accès Asie will once again host its popular culinary component.

Let yourself be seduced by this multisensory Indian culinary event. Discover the rich variety of Indian spices as you learn how they are uniquely used in this cuisine. Listen to ancient legends like the story of Annapurna, Hindu goddess of Nourishment. Veena Gokhale creates a warm ambiance with Indian stories, rituals, photos, and music while you learn the secrets of cooking Indian food and taste some delicious morsels as well.

As space is limited – 20 participants maximum – you should reserve your place as soon as possible.

Taste, see, listen, touch, smell and enjoy this fun Indian culinary trip!

Facebook Event


©Marc-Antoine ParentVeena Gokhale – Indian food instructor

Born into a vegetarian family in India, Veena Gokhale is a talented journalist, writer, environmentalist, non-profit professional, and educator who specializes in Indian cooking. Gokhale introduces the world of Indian food and culture to all who wish to discover it. As teacher and storyteller, Gokhale provides a culture rich and friendly ambience at her cooking classes where you get hands-on experience creating easy, healthy, vegetarian dishes that don’t compromise on yumminess. (www.veenago.com/slurrrrp)

Du 2 au 28 mai 2017

Semaine 3

BANDEAU_FAA2017

RENCONTRE ENTRE LES MUSIQUES DE TURQUIE ET DE SYRIE

Golestan

Jeudi 18 mai
20h30
20 $

Sala Rossa
4848 boulevard Saint-Laurent
Métro Mont-Royal

Communiqué de presse

Cette année encore, le Festival Accès Asie est fier de présenter le concert Golestan, qui réunira, pour cette quatrième édition, les musiques de Turquie et de Syrie. Signifiant « jardin de fleurs » en persan, ce spectacle associera le joueur de oud syrien Nazih Borish et la joueuse de quânun turque Didem Basar pour un concert exceptionnel, le jeudi 18 mai à 20 h à la Sala Rossa.

Bien qu’en Syrie et en Turquie l'on parle différentes langues, ces pays voisins ont beaucoup d’éléments culturels en commun et la musique est un des langages qui réunit ces cultures. Pendant longtemps, ces deux pays ont partagé le même système modal et l’on y retrouve beaucoup de rythmes et de mélodies communes. Avec leurs instruments, aux origines très anciennes, ces musiciens vont recréer le dialogue pour réunir ces cultures et créer une musique nouvelle à partir de sources ancestrales, le temps d’une soirée.

Événement Facebook

Nombre de billets


©Didem BasarDidem Basar – Joueuse de quânun 

Née à Istanbul, Didem Basar étudie le qânun (zither sur table) au Conservatoire d’État de musique turque avec Nevzat Sumer. Elle complète sa formation en composition auprès de Demirhan Altug et Yavuz Ozustun. Concertiste, elle enseigne au Conservatoire de l’Université de Halic et au Conservatoire d’État de l’Université technique d’Istanbul. En 2002, elle rejoint l’Ensemble Bezmara et découvre le santûr turc et le qanûn traditionnel à cordes métalliques et investit autrement la musique ottomane. Parallèlement, Didem donne naissance à un quartet de qanûn, projet jamais tenté auparavant. Arrivée à Montréal en 2007, elle joue avec le Fenci’s Ensemble et l’Ensemble Constantinople et forme également le Duo Turco avec Ismail Fencioglu depuis 2009.

©Nathaneil HuardNazih Borish – Oudiste

Natif de Lattaquié, en Syrie, Nazih Borish commence l’apprentissage de l’oud auprès de son père à l’âge de cinq ans. Enfant prodige, il donne ses premiers concerts dès ses treize ans dans sa ville natale. Musicien autodidacte, il maîtrise les techniques de l’oud, et de différents styles de musique tels que la musique arabe, turque, flamenco, jazz, etc. Il a joué auprès de grand artistes du Moyen-Orient et a performé dans plusieurs villes du Moyen-Orient, mais également en Russie, en Ukraine, au Venezuela, au Canada et aux États-Unis. En 2005, Nazih fonde son école à Lattaquié et y forme plus de 100 étudiants à la pratique de l’oud et à l’improvisation. Depuis son arrivée à Montréal, en 2016, il a déjà collaboré avec plusieurs artistes montréalais et est très actif sur la scène de la métropole.

BANDEAU_FAA2017

PERFORMANCE NOUVEAUX MÉDIAS

©Yen-Chao Lin

DIY Haunt

Vendredi 19 mai
20h
5 $

OBORO
4001 rue Berri
Métro Sherbrooke

Communiqué de presse

Créé dans le cadre d'une résidence à OBORO, DIY Haunt est inspiré par les expériences d'enfance que l'artiste a vécues à Taïwan dans les années 1980 et 1990. Cette période de grands changements politiques et de croissance économique rapide est caractérisée par la fin de la loi martiale imposée par l'assemblée nationale de Taïwan entre 1949 et 1987. La libéralisation et la démocratisation de l'île résultent de la levée de cette loi martiale.

À mi-chemin entre tableau vivant générateur de souvenirs et véritable processus de guérison, DIY Haunt traite de l'austérité sociale et économique vécue après la guerre civile chinoise.  Cette installation/performance reflète les différentes expériences intergénérationnelles vécues au cours de cette période et qui ont donné lieu à la séparation, à l'apparition de frontières et à la division. Yen-Chao Lin utilise la capacité de résistance comme métaphore envers les différentes formes de protestations au conditionnement culturel qui ont eu lieu dans le passé et qui existent maintenant, tant au Canada qu'ailleurs dans le monde.

Événement Facebook

Billets à la porte.


©Olivier LewisYen-Chao Lin – Artiste multidisciplinaire

Autodéclarée archiviste postmoderne et passionnée d'histoire naturelle, Yen-Chao Lin,  collectionne autant des dossiers de famille que des spécimens biologiques. Immigrante de deuxième génération, ses œuvres sont souvent inspirées par des histoires orales, des pratiques religieuses populaires, ainsi que des thèmes hantologiques récurrents. Lin détient un baccalauréat en production cinématographique de l'Université Concordia. Ses œuvres ont été présentées au Festival du nouveau cinéma (Montréal), à Antimatter Media Art (Victoria), à Women Make Waves (Taipei), au Festival image contre nature (Marseille), pour ne citer qu'eux. Elle est actuellement membre et programmatrice pour Atelier Céladon. (www.cargocollective.com/psychickeye)

©Concordia UniversityAlice Ming Wai Jim – Commissaire

Alice Ming Wai Jim est historienne de l'art, conservatrice et coéditrice de la revue scientifique Asian Diasporic Visual Cultures and the Americas. Elle est professeure agrégée d'art contemporain au Département d'histoire de l'art de l'Université Concordia où elle enseigne les arts médiatiques, les histoires de l'art ethnoculturelles et mondiales, les études de conservateur et l'art contemporain asiatique et asiatique canadien.

Événement présenté en collaboration avec

1_OBORO_Logo_150 Dpi (W 162)

BANDEAU_FAA2017

COMPÉTITION DE DANSE
Aff_FAA2017_F2

Compétition de danse du Moyen-Orient

Samedi 20 mai
20h
15$

Sala Rossa
4848 boulevard Saint-Laurent
Métro Mont-Royal

Communiqué de presse

Le Festival Accès Asie est fier de présenter la quatrième édition de sa compétition de danse du Moyen-Orient!

Au cours de cette soirée rythmée par les musiques de l'Orient, se succéderont les performances solos des artistes soigneusement sélectionnés après notre appel de candidature. Six styles de danse du Moyen-Orient seront représentés à travers les numéros choisis: Baladi, Sharqi, Saïdi, Shaabi, Eskandarani Melaya Leff et Khaliji.

Les prestations seront appréciées et jugées selon divers critères artistiques et techniques par trois professionnels d'envergure internationale : Caroline Labrie, qui sera la juge d'honneur pour cette compétition, accompagnée de Khadija Jabiry et de Pierre Khoury. La danseuse Diane Labelle animera, en français et en anglais, cette soirée orientale.

À l'issue de la compétition, trois prix seront décernés ainsi que le Prix du public. Nouveauté cette année : un défilé des costumes de la boutique Mosaïque Import Export, qui seront portés par nos finalistes. Et pour détendre l'atmosphère avant le dévoilement des résultats, plusieurs numéros de danse hauts en couleur seront présentés.

Événement Facebook

Nombre de billets


©Courtoisie du FAACaroline Labrie - Juge d'honneur

Professeure depuis 1999, Caroline Labrie est autant passionnée par la danse que par le partage de ses connaissances, c’est pourquoi elle ouvre, en 2003, Danse égyptienne des Bois-Francs, une école où sont enseignées les danses orientales de style sharqi et folklorique. En 2004, elle voyage pour la première fois en Égypte, berceau de la danse orientale, afin de s’imprégner des racines de son art et s’y ressourcer. Attirée par l'histoire et la géographie depuis sa tendre enfance, son intérêt pour l'Égypte et la culture du Moyen-Orient s'est développé tout naturellement. En dansant, c'est cette passion qu'elle désire vivre et partager autour d'elle.

©Pierre FilteauKhadija Jabiry – Enseignante et chorégraphe

D’origine marocaine, Khadija Jabiry est issue d’une famille où la danse et le chant font partie du quotidien. Elle se passionne pour la danse égyptienne et décide de parfaire sa formation en Égypte auprès de grands noms de la danse orientale, tels que Mahmoud Reda et Farida Fahmy. En 1999, elle fonde au Québec la troupe professionnelle Baladi et Danses de l’Orient : Tywalline, qui est réputée pour la diversité de son répertoire folklorique. Elle offre des ateliers de danse d’Afrique du Nord aux États-Unis comme au Canada et a notamment fait partie du CA de l’Association québécoise de danse orientale (AQDO).

©Courtoisie du FAAPierre Khoury – Interprète, chorégraphe et enseignant

Pierre Khoury est parvenu à se tailler une place de choix dans l'univers de la danse orientale au Québec. Remportant la compétition de talents Cégep en spectacles, ce danseur d’origine syrienne a fait ses débuts en danse classique, pour ensuite se confirmer en tant que professionnel dans les danses de l’Orient, particulièrement dans le classique oriental et la dabke (folklore libanais). Il complète sa formation auprès de son mentor Khadija Jabiry, et continue à se parfaire auprès de grands maîtres Égyptiens. En 2011, il crée et gère le concept des soirées-spectacle Belly Dance With a Twist, dont il devient le directeur artistique. Aujourd'hui, Pierre poursuit avec passion son travail de danseur, de chorégraphe et d'enseignant et se produit régulièrement au restaurant La Menara, au Vieux-Port de Montréal.

©Courtoisie du FAADiane Labelle – Interprète et enseignante

Native de Montréal, Diane a commencé son initiation à la danse avec le jazz, la danse classique et moderne. Elle entreprend sa formation en danse orientale en 2003 et, en 2012, elle étudie auprès de Khadija Jabiry et intègre la troupe folklorique Les Tywallines de 2014 à 2015. Elle a participé à de nombreux ateliers avec des professeurs de renom tels que Aziza, Gamila Asfour, Lala Hakim, Amalia Maksoud, Karim Nagi, Ruby Beh, etc. Elle a dansé dans plusieurs festivals à Montréal et danse également dans des restaurants arabes de la métropole. Son style de danse mélange des éléments de danse classique et moderne en fusion avec la danse orientale. Diane enseigne également sa passion. (www.labellebaladi.com)

Événement présenté par

TD_SHIELD_PRINT_LOGO_COL_RGB

BANDEAU_FAA2017

ARTS CULINAIRES

©Veena Gokhale

Épices crépitantes, histoires sacrées

Dimanche 21 mai
15h à 17h
15 $

MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels)
3680, rue Jeanne Mance
Métro Place-des-Arts

Communiqué de presse

Le volet culinaire est de retour pour le plus grand plaisir des gourmands et des curieux! Veena Gokhale proposera un atelier de découverte des arts culinaires indiens.

Venez voir, entendre, goûter, sentir et prendre plaisir! Laissez-vous séduire par cet événement multisensoriel où vous serez exposé à la riche gamme d'épices indiennes et où vous apprendrez comment elles sont généralement utilisées dans la cuisine indienne. Écoutez les légendes, comme l'histoire de l'Annapurna, déesse hindoue de la nourriture, et profitez de quelques bouchées inédites. Tout cela, dans une ambiance indienne, avec des rituels, des photos et de la musique.

Les réservations sont obligatoires pour cet événement qui peut accueillir 20 personnes. Ne tardez pas à confirmer votre présence pour avoir le privilège de participer à ce voyage culinaire indien!

Événement Facebook

Nombre de billets


©Marc-Antoine ParentVeena Gokhale Professeure de cuisine indienne

Née dans une famille végétarienne en Inde, Veena Gokhale est immigrante de première génération. Elle possède plusieurs cordes à son arc :   journaliste, écrivaine, écologiste, professionnelle sans but lucratif, éducatrice informelle et professeure de cuisine indienne. Grâce à ses cours de cuisine indienne, Veena veut que chacun découvre les épices de son pays, et apprenne à cuisiner facilement et sainement les plats végétariens, sans compromis sur le plaisir de manger, le tout dans une ambiance conviviale.  (www.veenago.com/slurrrrp)

Du 2 au 28 mai 2017