March 4, 2016 – Mongolian Photography Exhibition

Mongolia, Land of Eternal Blue Sky
Photographs by Bayar Balgantseren (Mongolia)

Mongolia_Nomad_BAY_9257_72 Dpi (W1024)

Presented by the Embassy of Mongolia to Canada
& Festival Accès Asie

Opening cocktail: Friday, March 4, 2016 from 5:00 to 8:00 pm

Exhibition: March 4 to May 8, 2016

Monument-National
182 St-Laurent Boulevard, Montreal, Quebec, H2X 2S5
(St-Laurent metro station)

Free admission

Exhibition visiting hours

The Embassy of Mongolia to Canada and Festival Accès Asie, in collaboration with the Mongolian Canadian Association and Monument-National are pleased to present Mongolia, Land of Eternal Blue Sky, a visual arts exhibition featuring photographic works by artist Bayar Balgantseren (Mongolia). The exhibition will run from March 4th to May 8th, 2016. The public is invited to attend the opening cocktail on Friday, March 4th, 2016, from 5:00 to 8:00 pm, showcasing traditional dance by Mongolian children from Montreal, a music performance by Quebecois singer Juulie Rousseau and Mongolian specialities served courtesy of the Mongolian Canadian Association. The event will be officiated by His Excellency, Mr. Radnaabazar Altangerel, the fourth resident Ambassador of Mongolia to Canada.

Curated by Kakim Goh and Catherine LaMendola, with assistance from Elodie Lavergne, Mongolia, Land of Eternal Blue Sky explores Mongolian identity and culture both past and present as exemplified in three perspectives: nature, nomadic life, and the Mongolian city.

Bayar Balgantseren to  is a renowned Mongolian digital photographer, who is interested in the complex, and often contrasting facets of life in his country. The images exhibited in Mongolia, Land of Eternal Blue Sky offer different views of contemporary Mongolia, a country with complex and seemingly contrasting cultures, often thought of as “exotic” by Western viewers. Mongolian identity is explored through images of desolate steppes and bustling cities, featuring scenes of everyday life for both nomadic peoples and urban dwellers. Through his exploration of traditional nomadic culture and contemporary urban development, Balgantseren seeks to capture every facet of life in the beautiful and vast country of Mongolia.

The exhibition will consist of three themes: nature, nomadic life and the capital city of Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar. The images of nature display the country’s diverse landscapes, from the vast steppes to the Gobi desert, and the breathtaking waterfalls of Orkhon. Snapshots of everyday nomadic life and culture reveal people who are deeply connected to their environment, and present their authentic ways of life. Lastly, photographs of Mongolia’s cities present a contemporary country dedicated to development and progress, with deep cultural and historical roots.

For more information, contact:
Curator | Kakim Goh | (514) 270-6913 |
[email protected]2016-02-15 Ambassade de Mongolie_Logo_JPEG 72 Dpi

2015-11-10 B. Bayar_Headshot_JPEG 72 DpiBayar Balgantseren
Artist, Mongolia, Land of Eternal Blue Sky

Photographer Bayar Balgantseren (www.mongolphototour.com) currently lives and works in Mongolia. Since 2007, he has been taking photographs that capture scenes of nature, wildlife, landscapes, and images of traditional Mongolian nomadic lifestyles. In 2013, he published his first book of photography, entitled Bayar’s Photography Impressions. More recently, his work has been shown internationally at exhibitions in Tokyo, Japan and Ulan-Ude, Russia. In the past four years, his photography has been featured in multiple publications, including National Geographic Travel, Goodali, Mongolian Photo, and Wonderful Life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAH.E. Mr. Radnaabazar Altangerel
Ambassador of Mongolia to Canada

Ambassador Radnaabazar Altangerel was born in Tsetserleg, Mongolia and is the fourth resident Ambassador of Mongolia to Canada (www.ottawa.embassy.mn). Previously, he served as Ambassador of Mongolia to France, Spain, Portugal and Monaco and Permanent Delegate of Mongolia to UNESCO. He holds degrees from the Moscow State Institute of International Relations, Institute of International Studies in Geneva, and École Nationale d’Administration in Paris. In addition, he has worked in various capacities with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Mongolia, serving as the Chief of Diplomatic Protocol and State Secretary of Foreign Affairs of Mongolia.

Mongolia-Canada Bilateral Relations Mongolia and Canada established diplomatic relations on November 30, 1973 and celebrated the 40th Anniversary of diplomatic relations between the two countries in 2013. Mongolia first opened its General Consulate in Toronto in 1998. The Embassy of Mongolia to Canada was officially inaugurated in in Ottawa in December 2001. With similar climatic conditions, scarcity of population, abundance of natural and agricultural resources with a high role of these sectors in their economies, our two countries share a wealth of common experiences, enhancing Mongolia and Canada’s friendly cooperation in a number of key areas. There are approximately five thousand three hundred Mongolians living in Canada, including two hundred Mongolians in Montreal.Logo_MAHF_Francais

2016-01-25 Kakim Goh_Cropped Headshot_DSC1329_JPEG 72 Dpi (H 1024)Kakim Goh
Vice President of the Board of Directors

Kakim Goh (www.kakimgoh.com) was born in Singapore and lives in Montreal. He is the Vice President of the Board of Directors at Festival Accès Asie, in addition to serving as the Curator of the Visual Arts Program, responsible for organizing visual arts exhibitions, professional development programs and cultural mediation activities. He holds a BFA in Painting and Drawing from Concordia University. As a visual artist who creates interdisciplinary painting, performance and video installations, Kakim has been exhibiting in Mexico and Quebec since 1993, most notably at MAI, the OBORO New Media Laboratory and la Maison de la Culture du Plateau-Mont-Royal.

2016-01-22 Catherine LaMendola_Headshot_DSC1262_JPEG 72 Dpi  (H1024)Catherine LaMendola
Guest Curator

Catherine LaMendola was born in Texas and lives in Montreal. She is currently completing her bachelor’s degree in Art History at McGill University. She is also the co-president of McGill University’s student art gallery and her research focuses on contemporary installation practices and art criticism. She has written and edited for various Montreal publications including The Main and McGill’s journal Canvas. She has served as a curatorial intern at Festival Accès Asie since Spring 2015.

2016-01-22 Elodie Lavergne_Headshot_DSC1257_JPEG 72 Dpi (H 1024)Elodie Lavergne
Event Coordinator

Elodie Lavergne was born in France and lives in Montreal. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in International Business and Corporate Development from CNAM Haute-Normandie. In France, she gained marketing and event management experience working for L’Oréal Paris and volunteering at the Fontenay-Sous-Bois City Hall where she organized events, concerts and exhibitions. She is currently specializing in arts and culture by pursuing a Certificate in Animation and Cultural Research at UQAM. She has served as an Event Coordinator at Festival Accès Asie since Fall 2015.

Festival Accès Asie (www.accesasie.com) is a Montréal-based non-profit organization (NPO) that promotes Asian arts, histories and cultures in Québec and Canada through various artistic disciplines including visual arts, dance, theatre, video, film, music, comedy, poetry, literature, performance, new media and culinary arts. Formed in 1995, Festival Accès Asie is the longest continuously running Asian heritage arts festival in Canada. To date, it has presented works of over 600 artists of Asian origin from more than 20 different Asian countries.

DOWNLOAD PRESS KIT

facebook_logo
Facebook Event Page

Logo_MAHF_21ans

Du 1er au 30 mai 2019

4 mars 2016 – Exposition de photographies mongoles

La Mongolie, Pays de l’éternel ciel bleu
Photographies de Bayar Balgantseren (Mongolie)

Mongolia_Nomad_BAY_9257_72 Dpi (W1024)

Présentées par l’Ambassade de Mongolie au Canada
et le Festival Accès Asie

Vernissage : vendredi 4 mars 2016 – 17h à 20h

Exposition : Du 4 mars au 8 mai 2016

Monument-National
1182, Boulevard St-Laurent, Montréal, Québec, H2X 2S5
(Station de métro St-Laurent)

Entrée libre

L’horaire de visite d’exposition

L’Ambassade de Mongolie au Canada et le Festival Accès Asie, en collaboration avec l’Association Mongolie-Canada et le Monument-National ont le plaisir de présenter « La Mongolie, Pays de l’éternel ciel bleu », une exposition des photographies de l’artiste Bayar Balgantseren (Mongolie), du 4 mars au 8 mai 2016. Le public est invité à se joindre au vernissage le vendredi 4 mars 2016, de 17h à 20h. Un spectacle de danse traditionnelle présenté par des enfants mongols de Montréal et une performance musicale de la chanteuse québécoise Juulie Rousseau accompagné d’une dégustation de spécialités mongoles servies par l’Association Mongolie-Canada. L’événement sera officié par son Excellence M. Radnaabazar Altangerel, le quatrième ambassadeur permanent de Mongolie au Canada.

Mise en place par le commissaire Kakim Goh et Catherine LaMendola, avec l’assistance d’Elodie Lavergne, « La Mongolie, Pays de l’éternel ciel bleu » explore l’identité et la culture mongole traditionnelle et contemporaine, à travers trois perspectives : la nature, la vie nomade et la ville.

Bayar Balgantseren est un célèbre photographe numérique, qui est intéressé par les facettes complexes, et souvent opposées de la vie au sein de son pays. Les images choisies pour l’exposition « La Mongolie, Pays de l’éternel ciel bleu » abordent des points de vue divers sur la Mongolie contemporaine, un pays de cultures variées et contrastées, souvent considéré comme « exotique » par les spectateurs occidentaux. L’identité mongole est explorée entre les images de steppes désertes et des villes bondées, montrant à la fois des scènes de la vie quotidienne des nomades et des citadins. À travers l’exploration de la culture nomade traditionnelle et du développement urbain contemporain, Balgantseren cherche à capturer toutes les facettes de la vie de son beau et vaste pays qu’est la Mongolie.

L’exposition se composera de trois thèmes : la nature, la vie nomade et la ville avec des vues de la capitale mongole, Ulaanbaatar. Des images de la nature rendent hommage à la diversité des paysages en Mongolie, comme les immenses steppes, le désert de Gobi et les impressionnantes chutes de l’Orkhon. Des instantanés sur la vie et la culture nomade révèlent des gens profondément liés à leur environnement et leurs authentiques modes de vie. Pour finir, des photos de villes mongoles présentent un pays contemporain qui se consacre à son développement et au progrès, tout en gardant des racines culturelles et historiques profondes.

Pour des renseignements additionnels, veuillez contacter :
Commissaire | Kakim Goh | (514) 270-6973 |
[email protected]

2016-02-15 Ambassade de Mongolie_Logo_JPEG 72 Dpi

2015-11-10 B. Bayar_Headshot_JPEG 72 Dpi

Bayar Balgantseren
Artiste, La Mongolie, Pays de l’éternel ciel bleu

Le photographe Bayar Balgantseren (www.mongolphototour.com) habite et travaille en Mongolie. Depuis 2007, il prend des photos qui capturent des scènes de la nature, de la faune, des paysages et des images sur des nomades mongols et leur mode de vie. En 2013, il publie son premier livre en photographie, intitulé Bayar’s Photography Impressions. Récemment, son œuvre a été présentée internationalement dans des expositions à Tokyo, Japon et à Ulan-Ude, Russie. Au cours des quatre dernières années, ses photographies ont figuré dans plusieurs publications, dont le National Geographic Travel, Goodali, Mongolian Photo et Wonderful Life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAS.E. M. Radnaabazar Altangerel
Ambassadeur de Mongolie au Canada

Né à Tsetserleg, Mongolie, l’Ambassadeur Radnaabazar Altangerel est le quatrième Ambassadeur de Mongolie résidant au Canada. Il était auparavant Ambassadeur de la Mongolie en France, Espagne, Portugal et Monaco, ainsi que Délégué permanent de la Mongolie auprès de l’UNESCO. Il détient des diplômes de L’Institut d’État des relations internationales de Moscou, de l’Institut des hautes études internationales et du développement à Genève et de l’École Nationale d’Administration à Paris. Par ailleurs, il a travaillé au service du Ministère des affaires étrangères de Mongolie comme Chef du protocole diplomatique et Secrétaire d’État.

Les relations bilatérales entre la Mongolie et le Canada

Les relations diplomatiques entre la Mongolie et le Canada ont été établies le 30 novembre 1973 et le 40e anniversaire de cet évènement fut célébré en 2013. La Mongolie a ouvert son premier Consulat Général à Toronto dès 1998. L’Ambassade de la Mongolie au Canada fut officiellement inaugurée à Ottawa en Décembre 2001. Avec des similarités en terme de conditions climatiques, de faible densité de population, d’abondance de ressources naturelles et agricoles, dont un rôle important de ceux-ci dans leurs économies, nos deux pays partagent de nombreuses expériences communes, contribuant grandement à la florissante coopération entre la Mongolie et le Canada dans plusieurs domaines clés. Il y a approximativement cinq mille trois cents Mongols vivants au Canada, dont deux cents à Montréal.

Logo_MAHF_Francais

2016-01-25 Kakim Goh_Cropped Headshot_DSC1329_JPEG 72 Dpi (H 1024)Kakim Goh
Commissaire et Vice-Président du CA

Né à Singapour et vivant à Montréal, Kakim Goh (www.kakimgoh.com) est le Vice-Président du Conseil d’Administration du Festival Accès Asie, ainsi que le Commissaire en Arts visuels, responsable de l’organisation des expositions d’arts visuels, des programmes de développement professionnels et des activités de médiation culturel. Il détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels spécialisé en peinture et dessin de l’Université Concordia. Comme artiste visuel consacré à la création interdisciplinaire qui combine peinture, performances et installations vidéo, Kakim a participé à de nombreuses expositions au Québec et au Mexique depuis 1993, notamment à Montréal, arts interculturels (MAI), Oboro et à la Maison de la culture Plateau-Mont-Royal.

2016-01-22 Catherine LaMendola_Headshot_DSC1262_JPEG 72 Dpi  (H1024)Catherine LaMendola
Commissaire adjointe

Catherine LaMendola est née au Texas et réside à Montréal. Elle termine actuellement son baccalauréat en Histoire de l’art à l’Université McGill. Catherine est la co-présidente de la galerie d’art de cette même université et sa recherche porte sur les pratiques contemporaines d’installation ainsi que la critique d’art. Ella a aussi écrit et édité pour diverses publications montréalaises, tels que « The Main » et « Canvas », de l’Université McGill. Elle est par ailleurs commissaire stagiaire au Festival Accès Asie depuis le printemps 2015.

2016-01-22 Elodie Lavergne_Headshot_DSC1257_JPEG 72 Dpi (H 1024)Elodie Lavergne
Coordonnatrice d’événements

Elodie Lavergne est née en France et réside actuellement à Montréal. Après avoir obtenu un baccalauréat en Commerce International de CNAM Haute-Normandie, elle décide de se spécialiser dans le domaine des arts et de la culture avec un certificat en Animation et Recherche Culturelle de l’UQAM. Fort de son expérience de deux ans en marketing et événementiel au sein de L’Oréal Paris, elle a travaillé également en parallèle à l’organisation de vernissages, concerts et spectacles vivants au sein du service culturel de la ville de Fontenay-sous-Bois (France). Elle est chargée de la coordination d’événements pour le Festival Accès Asie depuis l’automne 2015.

Le Festival Accès Asie (www.accesasie.com) est un organisme sans but lucratif (OBNL) basé à Montréal qui fait la promotion des arts, des cultures et des histoires asiatiques au Québec et Canada à travers une grande variété de disciplines artistiques incluant les arts visuels, la danse, le théâtre, la vidéo, le cinéma, la musique, la comédie, la poésie, la littérature, la performance, les nouveaux médias et les arts culinaires. Établi en 1995, le Festival Accès Asie est le plus ancien festival en continu du Canada qui célèbre les arts du patrimoine asiatique. Jusqu’à présent, il a présenté les œuvres de plus de 600 artistes d’origine asiatique provenant de plus de 20 pays différents d’Asie.

TÉLÉCHARGEZ LE DOSSIER DE PRESSE

facebook_logo
Page Facebook de l’événement

Logo_MAHF_21ans

Du 1er au 30 mai 2019