Abilities project

 

Following the health crisis of Covid-19, the Abilities project is postponed to a later date.

ABILITIES is a pilot project in inclusive practices whose aim is to provide support in the form of training, professional development and adapted accommodations for Azalia Kaviani, an artist living with cerebral palsy so that she can produce a solo exhibition of visual art, a dance performance and share her experience during a conference with the team that accompanies her.

The aim of the project is to highlight the qualities of artists with disabilities in the hope of recognizing their skills and promoting their integration into the fabric of our society.

This project, presented by the Festival Accès Asie, is financially supported by the CAM (Conseil des arts de Montréal).

The artist and the project are supported by MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) in the form of an artistic residency in rehearsal studios.

The Nocturnes

presented in collaboration with Conseil des arts de Montréal and Montréal, arts interculturels

From Thursday, April 30th to Friday, May 29th
From Monday to Friday 9am-5pm

Free entrance

Conseil des arts de Montréal
1200, Sherbrooke Est Street

Sherbrooke Metro

Page Facebook

The Nocturnes is the first solo exhibition by Azalia Kaviani, a visual artist and dancer of Iranian origin living with cerebral palsy. Organized by curator Kakim Goh, The Nocturnes explores the imagination of Azalia Kaviani. Through her work, the artist stages water, trees, gardens, flowers, animals, and insects to create a world where dreams and angelic desires meet.

In addition to the exhibition and to learn more about the project, meet Azalia Kaviani and the team on Thursday, May 7 from 5:30 p.m. for a conference where they will speaking about their experience.

More informations

Azalia Kaviani - Visual Artist and Dancer

Originally from Iran, Azalia Kaviani is a visual artist and dancer who has been living with cerebral palsy since childhood. She immigrated to Montreal in 2006. She is a graduate of Concordia and McGill University, and also attended Dawson College. Azalia exhibited her paintings in 2018 at Galerie Mekic in the two-person exhibition Les Visages and at the SalonEsque collective exhibition at the MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) in 2015. From 2015 to 2017, Azalia received support from the MAI Mentorship Program. Her first solo exhibition The Nocturnes is the result of an intensive year of work on the ABILITIES Project, a pilot project in inclusive practices that was developed by Festival Accès Asie for the purpose of providing Azalia with adapted training, professional development and accommodation so that she could achieve her artistic and professional goals. Through her art, Azalia is motivated by the desire ‘’to inspire people with disabilities to pursue their ambitions, to encourage them not to marginalize themselves.’’

Kakim Goh – Curator and Project Manager /
Professional Development Advisor

Kakim Goh is a Singaporean-born Montreal-based visual artist, curator, and cultural worker. He holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Painting and Drawing from Concordia University. Kakim has a long history of community engagement helping to advance equity, diversity, and inclusion in the education, arts, and culture sectors. Kakim is an appointed Member of the Evaluation Committee for New Artistic Practices and Multidisciplinary Sector at the Conseil des arts de Montréal. He is Treasurer, Executive Member of the Board of Directors, and Chair of the Inclusion Committee at the English-Language Arts Network (ELAN). He served as Curator of the Visual Arts Program at Festival Accès Asie from 2014 to 2016 and was Vice-President on the Festival’s Board of Directors from 2014 to 2019. In everyday life, Kakim works as the Business Development Officer at Dawson College’s Continuing Education and Community Services.

Irem Bekter – Trainer, Choreographer / Dance Partner

Irem Bekter, woman of theater, of music, and dance, was born in Istanbul and left for England at the age of eight. She received diplomas in classical ballet and jazz dance from the Elmhurst Ballet School and perfected at the Royal Academy of Dance. In addition, she graduated from the Webber Douglas Academy of Dramatic Arts where she studied theatre, radio arts, television, direction, and music and singing.
In 1984, she moved to Argentina and dedicated her heart and soul to Argentinian folklore, especially ‘zapateo’ (Argentine foot stomping), which, after years of exhaustive research, lead her to create a new pedagogical concept called ‘Rhythm and Body’, which she taught at the Cultural Centre of the Faculty of Economics Sciences of Argentine and in extracurricular theatrical activities for young people with Down Syndrome. Under the auspices of the Teatro Luz y Fuerza, Irem developed a motor coordination program to stimulate brain and body activity in seniors. Since moving to Monteal in 2007, Irem has served as movement coach for Montreal’s Infinitheatre delivers workshops for Concordia University's ‘Centre for the Arts in Human Development’ program, which helps people with special needs.

Elise Andreoli - Health Advisor / Nurse Clinician

Elise Andreoli is an experienced clinical nurse. Born in Montreal, she is of Italian and Quebecoise origin. Elise holds a DEC in Nursing from Cégep André-Laurendeau and a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the University of Montreal. She has been a clinical nurse at the University of Montreal Hospital Centre (CHUM) since 2000, where she has worked in several units including emergency, hepatobiliary surgery and urology. She currently serves as a pivot nurse in oncology since 2009. She is the mother of two children, one of whom was born with cerebral palsy. In spite of her busy schedule, she still finds the time to practice taekwondo and dance. Elise is passionate about challenges and art therapy, and says her patients inspire her on a daily basis.

Laurence Ly – Director and photographer

Laurence Ly is a director, editor, and screenwriter of Cambodian and Vietnamese origin. Born in a refugee camp in Thailand, he has been a Canadian citizen since the age of two. After obtaining a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM) in 2014, Laurence began a self-funded feature film, Marche avec moi (Walk with me), and participated in the "Rendez-vous Québec Cinéma". In 2017, he obtained a master's degree from UQAM in communication with a concentration in film and moving images. A devoted filmmaker, director, screenwriter, editor, and producer, Laurence was also a programmer of films for the Festival Nomade de Montréal from 2013 to 2018. Today, he is a videographer and photographer for Festival Accès-Asie and also works at Main Film.

Projet Habilités

Suite à la crise sanitaire liée à la Covid-19, le projet Habilités est reporté à une date ultérieure.

HABILITÉS est un projet pilote en pratiques inclusives dont le but est de fournir l’appui sous forme de formation, de développement professionnel et d’accommodations adaptés pour Azalia Kaviani, une artiste vivant avec une paralysie cérébrale afin qu’elle puisse produire une exposition solo d’art visuel, une performance de danse et témoigner de son expérience lors d’une conférence avec l’équipe qui l’accompagne.

Le but du projet est de souligner les qualités des artistes en situation de handicap dans l’espoir de reconnaître leurs habilités et de promouvoir leur intégration dans le tissu de notre société. C'est aussi l'opportunité de les aider à s'intégrer dans le milieu professionnel des arts à Montréal.

Ce projet, présenté par le Festival Accès Asie, est soutenu financièrement par le Conseil des arts de Montréal.

L’artiste et le projet sont soutenus par le MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) sous forme d’une résidence artistique dans les studios de répétition.

Les Nocturnes

présentée en collaboration avec le Conseil des arts de Montréal et Montréal, arts interculturels

Du 30 avril au 29 mai
Vernissage : jeudi 30 avril - 17h30
Du lundi au vendredi - 9h à 17h

Entrée libre

Conseil des arts de Montréal (Édifice Gaston-Miron)
1210, rue Sherbrooke Est

Métro Sherbrooke

Page Facebook

Les Nocturnes est la première exposition solo dAzalia Kaviani, artiste visuelle et danseuse d’origine iranienne vivant avec une paralysie cérébrale.
Organisée par le commissaire Kakim Goh, l’exposition explore l’imaginaire d’Azalia Kaviani. Dans ses œuvres, l’artiste met en scène eau, arbres, jardins, fleurs, animaux et insectes pour créer un monde où rêves, désirs indistincts et angéliques se rencontrent.

En complément de l'exposition et pour en apprendre davantage sur le projet, assistez le jeudi 7 mai à partir de 17h30, à une conférence en compagnie d'Azalia Kaviani et de toute l'équipe qui témoigneront de son expérience.

Plus d'informations

Azalia Kaviani - Artiste visuelle et danseuse

D’origine iranienne et immigrée à Montréal en 2006, Azalia Kaviani est une artiste visuelle et danseuse qui vit avec une paralysie cérébrale depuis l’enfance. Elle est diplômée des universités Concordia et McGill et a fréquenté le Collège Dawson. Azalia a exposé ses tableaux en 2018 à la Galerie Mekic au sein de la double exposition Les Visages ainsi qu’à l’exposition collective SalonEsque au MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) en 2015. De 2015 à 2017, Azalia a été soutenue par le programme Complices du MAI. Son exposition solo Les Nocturnes est le fruit d’une année intensive de travail dans le cadre du projet HABILITÉS, un projet pilote en pratiques inclusives du Festival Accès Asie qui a fourni à Azalia l’appui en formation adaptée, en développement professionnel et en accommodements pour qu’elle puisse atteindre ses objectifs artistiques et professionnels. À travers son art, Azalia est motivée par le désir « d’inspirer les personnes avec un handicap à poursuivre leurs ambitions, les encourager à ne pas se marginaliser ».

Kakim Goh – Commissaire et gestionnaire du projet /
Conseiller en développement professionnel


Kakim Goh est un artiste visuel, commissaire et travailleur culturel originaire de Singapour et établit à Montréal. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat de Beaux-Arts en peinture et dessin à l'Université Concordia, Kakim œuvre depuis longtemps dans les milieux communautaires afin de promouvoir l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans les secteurs de l’éducation, des arts et de la culture. Kakim siège au comité d’évaluation des nouvelles pratiques artistiques et secteur pluridisciplinaire du Conseil des arts de Montréal. Il est le trésorier, membre exécutif du conseil d’administration et chef du comité d’inclusion de l’English-Language Arts Network (ELAN). Il a été commissaire du programme des arts visuels du Festival Accès Asie de 2014 à 2016, où il a occupé le rôle de vice-président du conseil d’administration de 2014 à 2019. Au quotidien, Kakim travaille en tant qu’agent au développement des affaires au Collège Dawson.

Irem Bekter – Formatrice et chorégraphe / Partenaire de danse

Irem Bekter, femme de théâtre, de musique et de danse, est née à Istanbul. À huit ans, elle part pour l’Angleterre où elle obtient des diplômes en danse classique et jazz de l’École de ballet Elmhurst à Camberley et se perfectionne à l’Académie Royale de danse de Londres. Elle est bachelière de l’Académie des arts dramatiques Webber Douglas où elle étudie le théâtre, la radio, la télévision, la direction et le chant. En 1984, elle s’installe en Argentine où elle se dédie à la danse « zapateo » (podorythmie argentine), ce qui l’amène à créer un nouveau concept « Rythme et corps sur scène » qu’elle enseigne au Centre culturel de l’Université des sciences économiques d’Argentine et dans un programme de théâtre à des jeunes ayant le syndrome de Down. Elle développe avec des aînés le Programme de coordination motrice pour stimuler l’activité cérébrale et corporelle. Arrivée à Montréal en 2007, elle est « movement coach » à l’Infinitheatre et offre des ateliers au sein du programme Center for the Arts in Human Development à l’Université Concordia, destinés aux personnes relevant des défis relatifs à leur développement et aux individus demandant des besoins spéciaux.

Elise Andreoli - Conseillère en santé / Infirmière clinicienne

Elise Andreoli est une infirmière clinicienne expérimentée. Née à Montréal, son père est d’origine italienne et sa mère est Québécoise. Elle est détentrice d’un DEC en Soins infirmiers du Cégep André-Laurendeau et d’un baccalauréat en science infirmière de l’Université de Montréal. Depuis 2000, elle est infirmière clinicienne au Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal où elle a travaillé sur plusieurs unités telles que l’urgence, la chirurgie hépatobiliaire, l’urologie, mais depuis 2009, elle est infirmière pivot en oncologie. Mère de deux enfants, dont une petite fille qui est atteinte de paralysie cérébrale depuis sa naissance. Elle prend le temps de pratiquer du taekwondo et de la danse. Elle est passionnée par les défis, l’art thérapie et se dit inspirée par ses patients au quotidien.

Laurence Ly – Réalisateur et photographe

Laurence Ly est réalisateur, monteur et scénariste d’origine cambodgienne et vietnamienne. Né dans un camp de réfugiés en Thaïlande, il est citoyen canadien depuis l’âge de 2 ans. Après avoir obtenu un baccalauréat en arts à l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), en 2014, Laurence entame un long métrage autofinancé intitulé Marche avec moi et participe aux Rendez-vous Québec Cinéma. Il obtient ensuite une Maîtrise en communications, concentration cinéma et image en mouvement en 2017 à l’UQAM. Cinéphile, réalisateur, scénariste, monteur et producteur dévoué, Laurence a été programmateur de films pour le Festival Nomade de Montréal de 2013 à 2018. Aujourd’hui, il est vidéaste et photographe pour le Festival Accès-Asie et il travaille également chez Main Film.