Week 1

OPENING COCKTAIL

Opening Cocktail

Thursday, April 30th
5:30 pm to 8 pm 

Free entrance - Only by reservation

Conseil des arts de Montréal
1210, Sherbrooke Est Street
Sherbrooke Metro

Facebook Event

Festival Accès Asie celebrates its 25th edition from April 30 to May 31, 2020 by inviting Montrealers to come out and celebrate the arts and Asian culture!

The Festival will be officially launched by our special guest of honor Alanis Obomsawin during the inauguration cocktail where circus entertainment (Ryunosuke Yamazuni, Marina Salonga and Genevieve PM Roy), delicious appetizers, tea tasting, and artistic performances will flow over the course of the evening.

Part of the evening’s festivities will be the opening of the first solo exhibition The Nocturnes by the visual artist and dancer Azalia Kaviani. Azalia will also perform a dance duet with choreographer Irem Bekter.

For music, you will be treated to a performance by Aditya Verma and Subir Dev on the sarod and the tabla and a few pieces from Jasmine Xu on the erhu. As well, Hazy Montagne Mystique, Chittakone Baccam's exploratory project, will warm up the soundscape throughout the evening, accompanied by visual and sound artist Claire Lunaire.

Happy Festival to everyone!

Guest of honor : Alanis Obomsawin | Artists : Azalia Kaviani, Irem Bekter, Ryunosuke Yamazuni, Marina Salonga, Genevieve PM Roy, Aditya Verma, Subir Dev, Jasmine Xu, Chittakone Baccam, Claire Lunaire | Technical director : Raphaël Dalahaye


Press release

VISUAL ARTS

Les Nocturnes

presented in collaboration with Conseil des arts de Montréal and Montréal, arts interculturels

From Thursday, April 30th to Friday, May 29th
From Monday to Friday 9am-5pm

Free entrance

Conseil des arts de Montréal
1200, Sherbrooke Est Street
Sherbrooke Metro

Facebook event

The Nocturnes is the first solo exhibition by Azalia Kaviani, a visual artist and dancer of Iranian origin living with cerebral palsy.

Organized by curator Kakim Goh, The Nocturnes explores the imagination of Azalia Kaviani. Through her work, the artist stages water, trees, gardens, flowers, animals, and insects to create a world where dreams and angelic desires meet.

This exhibition is the result of an intensive year of work in the ABILITIES Project, a project based on inclusive practices developed by Festival Accès Asie with the purpose of providing Azalia with professional development and accommodation so that she could achieve her artistic and professional goals.

In addition to the artwork, you will be able to view a short documentary film directed by Laurence Ly, which captures the progress of the ABILITIES Project and Azalia’s unique creative process.

Artist : Azalia Kaviani | Curator : Kakim Goh | Director : Laurence Ly

Press release

DANCE

Kick Start
Presented in collaboration with CanAsian Dance and Tangente

 Friday, May 1st and Saturday, May 2nd
 7:30pm
Sunday, May 3rd
4pm

$ 21 / 29

 TANGENTE - Edifice Elder
1435 de Bleury Street
Metro Place des Arts

Ticket
Facebook event

KickStart Festival by CanAsian Dance is a contest that encourages Canadian Asian choreographers to develop and present a short work that offers a new direction or a constructive change in their approach to choreography. KickStart 2020 presents two choreographers from Ontario and two from Quebec.

Choreographer and performer Andrea Nann presents Firehorse and Shadow, a work that explores the meaning of her Chinese astrological sign, the firehorse, a rare sign deemed undesirable for women in China.

Jin Gu Bang (The Golden Stick Ritual), from performer and choreographer Charo Foo Tai Wei, brings together buried languages ​​that have tugged at her for a long time: on the one hand, shēn yùn - rational; and on the other, butoh.

In Self-Portraits with Amrita, choreographer Deepti Gupta invites her performers – Sukriti Sharma, Neetika Sharma and herself – to use their body memory to talk about their history through the exploration of self-portraits by the painter Amrita Sher-Gil.

Finally, Winnie Ho, choreographer and performer, presents aWokening, a piece that explores a traditional Chinese cooking instrument – the wok.

 

Firehorse and Shadow – Dancer & Choreographer: Andrea Nann | Shadow artist & Performer: Annie Katsura Rollins | Creative consultant: Sarah Chase | Playwright: Cindy Mochizuki
Jin Gu Bang (The Golden Stick Ritual) – Dancer & Choreographer: Charo Foo Tai Wei| Playwright: Dulcinea Langfelder | Sound Designer: David Blouin | Lightning designer: Isabelle Garceau | Costumes: Julie Pichette
Self-Portraits with Amrita – Dancer & Choreographer: Deepti Gupta | Dancers: Sukriti Sharma, Neetika Sharma | Vocals & Spoken word: Sheniz Jammohamed | Mentor: Peter Chin
aWokening – Dancer & Choreographer: Winnie Ho


Press release

PERFORMING ARTS

Cycles of light

Saturday, May 2nd
Opening at 8pm
9pm-10pm

$ 10

Sala Rossa
4848 St-Laurent boul.
Laurier Metro

Ticket
Facebook event

Cycles of Light is a cabaret night that brings together the renewed energy and renewed light, connecting artists through generations, ages, genders, sexualities, and points of belonging across Asia. This cabaret is a rendez-vous with the past, the present, and the future; it is an ending and a new beginning.

The universe expresses itself in cycles: the movements of the planets, the rotation of the earth, the coming and going of seasons, the cycles of darkness and light, life and death, endings and beginnings. For the 25th anniversary of Festival Accès Asie, we come full-circle: we are completing a cycle by inviting artists from the very first cabaret of the Festival to share a stage with artists from the last cabaret of the Festival.

Curated and hosted by the inter-generational duo, Himmat Singh Shinhat and Kama La Mackerel, Cycles of Light will feature The Balcony, Laila Gulabi, Shin Ling, Janet Lumb, and Atif Siddiqi.

Press release

Semaine 1

 COCKTAIL D'OUVERTURE

Cocktail d'ouverture - Crédit: Laurence Ly

Cocktail d'ouverture

Jeudi 30 avril - 17h30 à 20h

Entrée gratuite, sur réservation uniquement

Conseil des arts de Montréal
1210 Rue Sherbrooke Est
Métro Sherbrooke

Événement Facebook

Du 30 avril au 31 mai 2020, le Festival Accès Asie souligne en grand sa 25e édition en invitant les montréalais à venir célébrer les arts et la culture asiatique !

Le lancement des activités sera annoncé par l’invitée d’honneur Alanis Obomsawin au cocktail d’inauguration où des animations de cirque (Ryunosuke Yamazuni, Marina Salonga et Genevieve PM Roy) et des performances artistiques agrémenteront la soirée. Vous pourrez également savourer de petites bouchées asiatiques et prendre part à une dégustation de thés.

Vous aurez l’occasion d’assister au vernissage de Les Nocturnes, la première exposition solo de l’artiste visuelle et danseuse Azalia Kaviani. Azalia offrira aussi une performance de danse en duo avec l’artiste interdisciplinaire Irem Bekter.

En musique, Aditya Verma et Subir Dev interpréteront au sarod et au tabla des pièces tirées d’un répertoire de musique classique indienne et Jasmine Xu présentera un concert de erhu.

Finalement, Hazy Montagne Mystique, le projet exploratoire de Chittakone Baccam, réchauffera l’ambiance sonore tout au long de la soirée, accompagné de l'artiste visuelle et sonore Claire Lunaire.

Bon festival à tous !

Invitée d'honneur : Alanis Obomsawin | Artistes : Azalia Kaviani, Irem Bekter, Ryunosuke Yamazuni, Marina Salonga, Genevieve PM Roy, Aditya Verma, Subir Dev, Jasmine Xu, Chittakone Baccam, Claire Lunaire | Dégustation de thés : Maître de thé Han Le | Directeur technique : Raphaël Dalahaye

Communiqué de presse

 


ARTS VISUELS

Les Nocturnes

présentée en collaboration avec le Conseil des arts de Montréal et Montréal, arts interculturels

 

Du 30 avril au 29 mai
Vernissage : jeudi 30 avril - 17h30
Du lundi au vendredi - 9h à 17h

Entrée libre

Conseil des arts de Montréal (Édifice Gaston-Miron)
1210, rue Sherbrooke Est
Métro Sherbrooke

Évènement Facebook

Les Nocturnes est la première exposition solo dAzalia Kaviani, artiste visuelle et danseuse d’origine iranienne vivant avec une paralysie cérébrale.
Organisée par le commissaire Kakim Goh, l’exposition explore l’imaginaire d’Azalia Kaviani. Dans ses œuvres, l’artiste met en scène eau, arbres, jardins, fleurs, animaux et insectes pour créer un monde où rêves, désirs indistincts et angéliques se rencontrent.

Cette exposition est le fruit d’une année intensive de travail dans le cadre du projet HABILITÉS, un projet pilote en pratiques inclusives du Festival Accès Asie qui a fourni à Azalia des outils de développement professionnel et des accommodations adaptées pour qu’elle puisse atteindre ses objectifs artistiques et professionnels.

En complément des œuvres d’Azalia, vous pourrez visionner un court-métrage documentaire réalisé par Laurence Ly, qui présente les différentes étapes de travail du projet HABILITÉS et qui raconte le processus de création d’Azalia.

Artiste : Azalia Kaviani | Commissaire : Kakim Goh | Réalisateur : Laurence Ly

Communiqué de presse

DANSE

Kick Start

Vendredi 1er mai et Samedi 2 mai - 19h30
Dimanche 3 mai - 16h
La représentation du vendredi 1er mai sera suivie d’une discussion avec les artistes.

21$ / 29$

TANGENTE - Edifice Wilder
1435, rue de Bleury
Métro Place-des-Arts

Billetterie
Événement Facebook

Le Festival KickStart de CanAsian Dance est un concours qui vise à inciter les chorégraphes canadiens à concevoir et à présenter une œuvre de courte durée qui illustre une nouvelle orientation ou un changement constructif dans leur approche de la chorégraphie. Le programme de 2020 comprend des œuvres signées par deux chorégraphes de l’Ontario et deux du Québec.

La chorégraphe et interprète Andrea Nann présente Firehorse and Shadow, une œuvre qui explore la signification de son signe astrologique chinois, le cheval de feu, signe rare et jugé indésirable pour les femmes en Chine.

Dans Jin Gu Bang (The Golden Stick Ritual), la chorégraphe et interprète Charo Foo Tai Wei concilie des langages enfouis au fond de son être et entre lesquels elle se sent depuis longtemps tiraillée : d’un côté, le shēn yùn — rationnel, et de l’autre, le butō — émotionnel.

Dans Self-Portraits with Amrita, la chorégraphe Deepti Gupta invite ses interprètes (Sukriti Sharma, Neetika Sharma et elle-même) à utiliser leur mémoire corporelle pour parler de leur histoire à travers l’exploration des autoportraits de la peintre Amrita Sher-Gil.

Finalement, Winnie Ho, chorégraphe et interprète, nous présente aWokening, une pièce ayant pour thème un instrument de cuisson chinoise traditionnelle : le wok.

 

Firehorse and Shadow – Chorégraphe et interprète : Andrea Nann | Interprète et marionnettiste : Annie Katsura Rollins | Consultant en création : Sarah Chase | Dramaturge : Cindy Mochizuki
Jin Gu Bang (The Golden Stick Ritual) – Chorégraphe et interprète : Charo Foo Tai Wei | Dramaturge : Dulcinea Langfelder | Concepteur sonore : David Blouin | Conceptrice d’éclairages : Isabelle Garceau | Conceptrice des costumes : Julie Pichette
Self-Portraits with Amrita – Chorégraphe et interprète : Deepti Gupta | Interprètes : Sukriti Sharma, Neetika Sharma | Chant et parolière : Sheniz Jammohamed | Mentor : Peter Chin
aWokening – Chorégraphe et interprète : Winnie Ho

 


Communiqué de presse

 


ARTS VIVANTS

Cycles of light

Samedi 2 mai - 21h à 23h
Ouverture des portes : 20h

10$

Sala Rossa
4848, boulevard Saint-Laurent
Métro Laurier

Billetterie
Évènement Facebook

L'univers s'exprime par cycles : les mouvements des planètes, la rotation de la terre, les allées et venues des saisons, les cycles d'obscurité et de lumière, la vie et la mort, la fin et les débuts. Pour le 25e anniversaire du Festival Accès Asie, nous bouclons la boucle : nous complétons un cycle en invitant des artistes du tout premier cabaret du festival (1995) à partager la scène avec des artistes du dernier cabaret du festival (2019).

Sous le signe de l'énergie et de la lumière renouvelées, le cabaret Cycles of Light rassemble des artistes sans égard envers les différences de génération, d’âge, d’identité de genre ou de lieu d’origine. Rendez-vous avec le passé, le présent et l'avenir, marquant à la fois la fin d’une période et un nouveau départ.

Organisé et animé par le duo intergénérationnel Himmat Singh Shinhat et Kama La Mackerel, Cycles of light mettra en vedette The Balcony, Laila Gulabi, Shin Ling, Janet Lumb et Atif Siddiqi!

Communiqué de presse