Week 2

PERFORMING ARTS

Crédit : Laurence LY

ABILITIES PROJECT: Inclusive Practices
Conference with Azalia Kaviani and the project team

 

Thursday, May 7th
6pm

Free entrance

Conseil des arts de Montréal
1210, Sherbrooke Est Street
Sherbrooke Metro

Facebook event

Recognizing the fact that people with disabilities face many barriers on a daily basis, Festival Accès Asie, with the support of Conseil des Arts de Montréal and MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels), initiated the ABILITIES Project to help artists with disabilities to professionalize and integrate into the professional arts community in Montreal.

For this pilot project, the Festival worked with Azalia Kaviani, a visual artist and dancer of Iranian origin who lives with cerebral palsy. In conjunction with her solo exhibition Les Nocturnes, we are pleased to invite the public to a conference on inclusive practices and the ABILITIES Project.

The public will learn about Azalia’s reality as an artist, her artistic journey, and motivation to help people with disabilities. The team members who accompanied Azalia during the process will also share their experiences about this complex, innovative, and inspiring project.

The screening of a documentary film on the ABILITIES Project, directed by Laurence Ly, will follow the discussion.

Artist : Azalia Kaviani | Choreographer & Dancer : Irem Bekter | Curator : Kakim Goh | Director : Laurence Ly | Health Consultant : Elise Andreoli


Press release

CINEMA

An evening screening of the film Chuskit
Double subtitling (English/French)
In collaboration with Centre Kabor Arts and Culture

 

Friday, May 8th
8pm

Free entrance

Le Gesù
1200, de Bleury street
Place-des-Arts Metro

Facebook event

The Indian film Chuskit (2019), directed by Priya Ramasubban, won in the international category, the Special Jury Award of the International Film Festival for Children and Youth Awards. The film will be shown in its original version but with both English and French subtitles

Sprightly Chuskit’s dream of going to school is cut short when she is rendered a paraplegic after an accident. She’s confined to life indoors in the company of her strict grandfather, Dorje. Chuskit continues to harbor hopes of school but Dorje tries to make her understand that school can’t handle her needs. As life at home gets harder, her battle with her grandfather exacerbates. Caught in between their struggle are Chuskit’s parents and her enterprising brother who want to respect the old world views that Dorje represents, but also want to keep Chuskit’s spirit alive. Chuskit will have to get her grandfather to yield or she will have to accept the reality he has chosen for her.

Press release

 

DANCE

Crédit Benoite Fanton

Zones de Confluences

Saturday, May 9th - 8pm

15$

Studio 303
372, Sainte-Catherine W. Street
Place-des-Arts Metro

Ticket
Facebook event

In Zones de Confluences, dance company Circul'R – David Phiphak, Bérénice Dupuis – shares the stage with urban dancer, Charles Gao, and violinist / dancer, Quianen Fu. This improbable quartet reveals the invisible vectors animating our relationships.

Zones de Confluences uses a meteorological metaphor to move ineffable relationships and unspeakable influences. Through the quest for an authentic presence to themselves, to the other, this quartet explores how energy and immediate attention can intercept and dominate.

This piece, based on ground techniques and live recordings, presents a meeting point of energies which sometimes compete to gain the scenic space and sometimes merge. Through habits, prejudices, and resistance, a fluid and intimate choreography will reveal, layer by layer, the hidden personality of the dancers.

 

Choreographers & Performers : David Phiphak , Bérénice Dupuis | Performers : Quianen Fu, Charles Gao | Sound Designers : Quianen Fu, Samuel Nadai | Lightning designer : Benoît Larivière

Press release

 

MUSIC

Scenes and Formations
Presented in collaboration with Groupe Le Vivier

Sunday, May 10th- 3pm
Pre concert discussion: 2pm

18$ (Presale) 35$ (On site)

Gesù-Centre de créativité
1200,  de Bleury Street
Place-des-Arts Metro

Ticket
Facebook event

Scenes and Formations is a concert where the spotlight will shine on a musical fusion of Eastern and Western traditions.

Pianist Natsuki Hiratsuka and the Park Sounds duo, composed of violist Jennifer Thiessen and percussionist Ben Reimer, will perform together for the first time on stage. This unique program will take you on a musical journey inspired by folklore, poetry, literature, and painting.

The performance will include pieces by Asian composers such as Frederic Mompou (Spain), Tōru Takemitsu (Japan), Vincent Ho (Canada), and Tigran Mansurian (Armenia). In this trio, Thiessen, Reimer, and Hiratsuka perform these pieces for viola, percussion, and piano.

Before the concert, enjoy a talk at 2:00 PM about the influence of other arts in musical creation.

Artists : Natsuki Hiratsuka, Jennifer Thiessen, Ben Reimer

 

Press release

Semaine 2

ARTS VISUELS | ARTS VIVANTS

Crédit : Laurence LY

HABILITÉS : Pratiques Inclusives
Conférence avec Azalia Kaviani et l'équipe du projet

Jeudi 7 mai - 17h30
Début de la conférence à 18h

Entrée libre

Conseil des arts de Montréal (Édifice Gaston)
1210, rue Sherbrooke Est
Métro Sherbrooke

Évènement Facebook

Partant du constat que les personnes en situation de handicap font face à de nombreux obstacles au quotidien, le Festival Accès Asie, en collaboration avec le Conseil des arts de Montréal et le MAI a mis sur pied le projet HABILITÉS. Cette initiative a pour objectif d’aider les artistes handicapés à s’intégrer dans le milieu professionnel des arts à Montréal.

Ce projet pilote est consacré à Azalia Kaviani, une artiste visuelle et danseuse d’origine iranienne vivant avec une paralysie cérébrale. En complément de son exposition Les Nocturnes, nous vous invitons à assister à une conférence sur les pratiques inclusives et sur le déroulement de HABILITÉS.

Le public pourra assister au témoignage d’Azalia sur sa réalité d’artiste, son parcours et ses motivations. Les membres de l’équipe qui ont accompagné Azalia dans sa démarche seront également présents pour évoquer leur expérience au sein de ce projet complexe, novateur et inspirant.

La projection d’un film documentaire sur le projet, réalisé par Laurence Ly, suivra la discussion.

Artiste : Azalia Kaviani | Chorégraphe et danseuse : Irem Bekter | Commissaire : Kakim Goh | Réalisateur : Laurence Ly | Conseillère en santé : Elise Andreoli

Communiqué de presse

CINÉMA

Projection du film Chuskit
(double sous-titrage anglais/français)
En collaboration avec Le Centre Kabir Arts et Culture


Vendredi 8 mai- 20h

Entrée libre

Le Gesù
1200, rue de Bleury
Métro Place Des Arts

Évènement Facebook

Ce film dramatique, inspiré de faits réels, raconte l’histoire de Chuskit dont le rêve est de pouvoir enfin aller à l'école. Suite à une chute, la fillette qui vit dans un village isolé de l’Himalaya devient toutefois paraplégique. Clouée au lit et gardée par son grand-père attaché aux traditions, Chuskit va devoir s’habituer à cette nouvelle vie. À mesure que la vie à la maison se durcit, sa bataille avec son grand-père s’aggrave. Un film plein d’espoir, évoquant autant les tensions intergénérationnelles que la force de la solidarité familiale.

Le film indien Chuskit, réalisé par Priya Ramasubban remporte en 2019 dans la catégorie internationale, le Prix ​​spécial du jury du Festival International du film pour l'enfance et la jeunesse.

Communiqué de presse

DANSE

Crédit Benoite Fanton

Zones de Confluences

Samedi 9 mai - 20h

15$

Studio 303
372, rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest
Métro Place-des Arts

Billetterie
Facebook event

Dans Zones de Confluences, la compagnie de danse Circul’R (David Phiphak, Bérénice Dupuis) partage la scène avec un danseur urbain (Charles Gao) et un violoniste/danseur (Quianen Fu). Ce quatuor improbable nous révèle les vecteurs invisibles animant nos relations.

Zones de Confluences utilise la métaphore météorologique pour évoquer par le mouvement des rapports ineffables et des influences indicibles. Grâce à la recherche d’une présence authentique à soi et à l’autre, les interprètes explorent les façons d’intercepter et de dominer l’énergie et l’attention immédiate.

Basée sur des techniques au sol et l’enregistrement en direct, cette pièce est le point de rencontre d’énergies qui tantôt sont en opposition pour gagner l’espace scénique et qui tantôt fusionnent. À travers les habitudes, les préjugés et les résistances, se dévoilera une chorégraphie fluide et intime révélant, couche par couche, la personnalité cachée des danseur.

Chorégraphes et interprètes : David Phiphak, Bérénice Dupuis | Interprètes : Quianen Fu, Charles Gao | Composition musicale : Quianen Fu, Samuel Nadai | Conception d’éclairage : Benoît Larivière

Communiqué de presse

MUSIQUE

Scenes and formations
Présenté en collaboration avec le Groupe Le Vivier

Dimanche 10 mai - 15h
Discussion pré-concert: 14h

18$ (prévente) 35 $ (à la porte)


Gesù-Centre de créativité
1200, rue de Bleury
Métro Place-des-Arts

Billetterie
Facebook event

Scenes and Formations est un concert où la fusion des traditions musicales orientales et occidentales est à l’honneur.

Seront rassemblés pour la première fois sur scène la pianiste Natsuki Hiratsuka et le duo Park Sounds, composé de l’altiste Jennifer Thiessen et du percussionniste Ben Reimer. Ce programme unique vous entraînera dans un voyage musical inspiré du folklore, de la poésie, de la littérature et de la peinture.

Le programme comportera des pièces de compositeurs d’origine asiatique et d'ailleurs tels que Frederic Mompou (Espagne), Tōru Takemitsu (Japon), Vincent Ho (Canada) et Tigran Mansurian (Arménie). Le trio Thiessen, Reimer et Hiratsuka interprètera ces morceaux pour alto, percussions et piano.

  • Programme
    Frederic Mompou, Scènes d’enfants
    Tōru Takemitsu, A Bird Came Down the Walk
    Vincent Ho, Kickin’ It 2.2
    Tigran Mansurian, Lied, Gebilde und Wandschirm

Avant le concert, profitez à 14h d’une discussion sur l’influence des autres arts dans la création musicale.

Artistes : Natsuki Hiratsuka, Jennifer Thiessen, Ben Reimer

 

Communiqué de presse